The Tamarind tree #ThursdayTreeLove

wp-1593089089603.jpg

Here is the Tamarind tree from my gallery which was clicked almost a year back when I was on vacation and having awesome time at my native Udupi. I used to watch this tree daily while crossing the small lane which connects to many other houses of our relatives in the same block of area.

The word “Tamarind” derives from the Arabic word “tamar hindī”, which literally means “Indian date”. (Source: Google)

The tree and all the part of tree are usable in one or other form. The fruit of the tree is brown curved pod hanging in the bunches. It contains the pulp which gradually changes its colour from green to brown as it ripe with seeds numbering from 3 to 12. The pulp, leaves, bark and seeds have medicinal uses. The pulp has tangy taste which is a midway between sweet and sour.

I can recall candies made of tamarind pulp, jaggery and pepper which was the one of the easily available candies near school. I cant thinks of rasam without the tamarind extract. Tamarind is one of the essential ingredient in our daily cooking. The list of foods doesn’t seize when start talking about tamarind usage involved in those items. Recall one of your favourite food prepared using tamarind and share with me in comments, I would love to hear your views.

ShilpaNairy_Signature

Tree#31

Joining Parul for #ThursdayTreeLove – is a photo feature hosted on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month by her.

11 thoughts on “The Tamarind tree #ThursdayTreeLove

  1. There was a tamarind tree right outside my grandparents house and the fruits would fall in our courtyard. It would be fun piking these up as kids and collecting in kitchen for my Dadi (paternal grand mother). I also love the leaves of a tamarind tree.
    Lovely post, Shilpa. I love tamarind in Sambhar, Chutney with Samosa and as a candy 🙂 I don’t like them too sour but ripe tamarind with salt is sure delicious 🙂 Thanks for joining and I hope to see you back tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A friend and I were just talking about how we south Indians love the taste that Tamarind lends to our curries. I love the pulp and the unripe fruit, too. (and everything tangy :D) Yum!!
    Shilpa, your tree looks gorgeous! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment