Tal Palm #ThursdayTreeLove

This Tal palm tree was captured at my native beach side. We all been to beach before the dusk to play and enjoy the sunset. These trees look so amazing on the way to walk from road to beach. Beautifully standing high on the border of the highland beside the beach area.

20190329_181351
Some facts which I am aware about this tree are;

Its a native tree to the Indian subcontinent and Southeast Asia. The leaves are fan shaped, wide and end with sharp spike edges. Every part of the tree is usable. Leaves are used to cover roof of old mud house during rainy season to avoid heavy rains. The trunk is used for any sort of timber need as its highly available. It bears the fruits in clusters like coconut. Locally we call the fruit as 3 eyes fruits as it bears 3 sweet jelly like sockets inside. The top portion of the fruit is carefully cut to extract those sockets. Also Sap is made out of it by tying earthen pot/bottle to the cut end of the top notch from where juices drip into pot. This is used as local arrack. This tree is abundantly available in our coastal area. It looks very scenic.

20190329_181253

ShilpaNairy_Signature


Tree#17

Joining Parul for #ThursdayTreeLove – is a photo feature hosted on 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month by her.

11 thoughts on “Tal Palm #ThursdayTreeLove

  1. I can imagine how beautiful this would have been. I also have seen these trees when in Kerala. Never knew the leaves and the sap can be used how you described. Thank you Shilpa. I am so glad you shared this post and the lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My mother in law loves these fruit and today they are selling on the street markets for Rs 200 a dozen! I find their jelly like texture a bit creepy and can’t manage to put the whole fruit in my mouth without the sweet water coming out…..SOmeone told me they are also called Date Apples

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Sunita for more information. I didnt know about that name.. Even my mom is found of that fruit. I too find difficult putting complete one socket into mouth but biting it would waste jelly and lose actual taste. Btw new name is good..

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment